Home

Connectivity between Del.icio.us and WordPress.com

February 24, 2008


I am experimenting with connectivity between del.icio.us and my free wordpress.com blog.

I have my most recent del.icio.us links automatically generated in my WordPress sidebar using a text widgets option in Presentation in my Dashboard.

I would like to have a del.icio.us icon and simple widget for efficiently link my most visited posts to users’ del.icio.us accounts where one click opens the delicious page complete with the post’s url, description and key words automatically generated.

I am playing with a href and urls to find the cleanest most elegant route.
This is another suggestion from blog.delicious.com :

“First, you can link to http://del.icio.us/post with a GET argument of “url” containing the URL-encoded URL, and you can supply a title in the “title” field, similarly URL-encoded. This effectively lets you put something equivalent to del.icio.us’s “copy this” link somewhere offsite. The final URL should thus look like: http://del.icio.us/post?url=THEURL&title=THETITLE

So far I can use this code and this icon to help users link this post to their del.icio.us accounts:

 del.icio.us logo link this post to del.icio.us

3 Responses to “Connectivity between Del.icio.us and WordPress.com”


  1. I’ve never tried delicious, but everyone says it’s the place to be. is it better than stumbleupon?


  2. See this article for a great comparison

    http://www.problogger.net

  3. Sharon Says:

    Hi, Maureen,
    If I add a comment to this post, can you hide it somehow so that nobody can see it, except you?
    Sharon.

    Hi Sharon,

    I’d love to hear from you. Yes, if anyone adds a comment, I approve it before it is actually visible on the blog. Love, Maureen


Leave a Reply

