Home

Luc Bianca and Terragen

January 20, 2007


ReadWriteWeb catches me off-guard before I have had my second cup of coffee. Maybe I should wait until later in the day before visiting their suggested sites. Today I was blown away by a new software called Terragen that generates landscapes in the Romantic tradition based on Google-like technology ramped up to a painterly, detailed image. I will have to read about them again because I think it said ‘free’ but I find this hard to imagine. Terragen is photo realistic scenic rendering software.

So this is it: If I embed images in my webpages or blogs by pointing to someone else’s .jpg file directly this causes their images to load from their webserver everytime somebody looks at my page, which really costs them money because I would be consuming their bandwidth by doing so. Thanks for clarifying this Fred Basinki.

I still don’t see how I get the free image concept yet. I guess I could save this image to my PC then upload it to my own Free WordPress blog? Hoever this may a model I would like to use for my own high resolution images. What is the size of a poster-sized image? a 70×50 cm (30×30 inch), 300 dpi. With my Adobe Photoshop one of my .jpg images of that size would be 231.7 Megabytes. My free Flckr account accepts 5 M. images at a time.  I’ve been uploading high resolution images. Frankly I can’t afford to print them myself and I like the idea they are being used under the Creative Commons License 2.5 BY-NC-SA. I would like to investigate the Paypal potential for my images however.

See their Terragen 2 gallery here. See also individual artists use of the software: Luc Bianco’s Paysages Virtuel, or Fred Basinki’s site New World Digital Art here.

Leave a Reply

