Home

Digitage Web 2.0

December 5, 2006


Digitage Web 2.0

Flynn-Burhoe. 2006. “Digitage Web 2.0”, Flickr

Logos from Web 2.0 are caught in the web somewhere between NASA photos of deep space, science fiction landscapes of our inner space, the synapses of the brain, the virtual space that is not abstract, imagined or really real.

2 Responses to “Digitage Web 2.0”

  1. Sharon Says:

    Maureen,

    Have you wound up ‘beached wail’ for now? I was “checking up on you” almost daily at both of these spots.

    In response to your December 3rd post, I wanted to say something like, “Congratulations! You are beginning to break through ‘the frozen sea’…” I went off in search of Kafka’s phrase, and happened upon a blogger who had this to say: “To paraphrase Kafka: my blog is the ice-axe that broke the frozen sea within me…
    A sea of ice — in the shape of a serious bout with depression — immobilized me as a writer and reader for much of last summer and fall…I also had the worst case of writer’s block I’d ever experienced. Writing my weekly column, “Chip on Your Shoulder” felt like trying to break through that frozen sea with a teaspoon.” http://www.poynter.org/column.asp?id=52&aid-96500

    Take care that, in the attempt to deal with past traumas, you don’t find yourself being re-injured.

    It takes a lot of courage to pick up the ice-axe.

    Sharon


  2. I watched an old episode from West Wing on DVD last evening. A Josh-Blog and its bloggers were introduced as a comic-relief aside to the real story of risk management. How do we compute risks in Risk Society? Which will cost more? Staying dependent on fossil fuels in general and Middle Eastern fossil fuels in particular? Ecological damage to sensitive North ecosystems? Developing green fuels? Increasing vulnerabilities of indigenous peoples of Far North? The flighty bloggers creating comical havoc in the sidelines of the main story, were considered by the brightest, most astute political minds, to be “hysterical”, “off-their-meds,” under the power of a “control-freak” I am surprised they did not mention menopausal.
    Beached wail, speechless, Flickr and all the other Web 2.0 technologies I am learning, provide a space for me where under the protection of the Creative Commons I can upload empty my EndNote, place my Adobe PhotoShop images in albums, share my teaching, learning and research based on my real life experience. When I began just a couple of months ago, I started using only citations from others because my own voice in cyberspace was so unsure. But as I grow more confident beached wail has become the site for my inuitartwebliography. It has moved from classical art history, classical ethnography, from cultural studies to critical Inuit studies.

    I know that anyone who unsettles unchallenged assumptions can easily be interpreted as ill. I cannot prevent that. We live in a period where First Nations and Inuit youth suffering from a sense of despair, hopelessness, who see no future for themselves, are categorized as ill. Are they ill or just right? A heightened awareness of social injustice, combined with a sense of powerlessness and a lack of trust in social and cultural institutions does indeed unsettle the strongest among us.

    I don’t believe that my site is one where I am asking others to knock the chip off my shoulder so we can spar. I hope that these sites contribute to robust conversations on social and cultural exclusion, memory work, the suicide epidemic among Canada’s First Nations and Inuit youth, African Canadian history all within a framework of political philosophy concerned with nurturing ethical relationships of mutual respect between Self and the Other-I.

    I knew you were reading and I think of you with love every day. From one islander to another.


Leave a Reply

